sealnomad.blogg.se

Front porch steps ideas
Front porch steps ideas













We are about 1/2 mile walk to the beach, so after a day at the beach I had the girls layer their seashell finds from the day up the steps. So I had that rattan basket sitting on the doormat to take a pic and then I hung it on our gold pineapple door knocker and love it instead of your typical wreath. I was happy to find an outdoor rug to layer under the doormat to make it appear larger and add some color! (Doormat HERE Stripe Rug HERE). The 2×3 doormat always seems a little too dinky and small at the front of a door. I love THESE doormats with little words or greetings on them.

front porch steps ideas

Having it sheltered under the porch will help to protect it when I forget to water it:) I balanced out the chair with a potted boxwood topiary on the opposite side. Especially love the little gold trim around the center. I was thrilled to find THIS new hanging planter for it. I love ferns on the front porch and they are really hardy. My girls get picked up and dropped off of the school bus right in front of our home- so I can sit with Finn right here and wait for them! (Chair HERE). Now they *should* hold up better now that we have painted them twice. We learned that we *should* have primed the steps before painting them. We had to paint the steps again after this winter. So we took out the metal and replaced it wood pillars and also painted the steps. Last summer I shared the before of the front of our home- it had metal railing and chipped front steps. I could even feel how I felt walking up to her home, it made me happy and inspired! It was close to 10 years ago, but I totally envisioned her home as I was picking out flowers and working on our front porch. She had pulled weeds, planted some flowers, added pots of topiaries and soft lighting as you walked up to her front porch. Funny how we ignore the front of our home when that is the first impression we make! I can remember going to my friends Denise’s house for a party and the entry was SO darling. Needless to say it was ready for some love.

front porch steps ideas

Our porch still had the little green pine trees on them from Christmas, because I convinced myself they looked “wintery”.

front porch steps ideas

Our front porch was looking sad- as I think (or hope!) most front porches do after winter. Hello! I thought I would share some fun updates we did to the front porch.















Front porch steps ideas